Virginia Coastal Energy Research Consortium

Research Focus Area : Offshore Wind Power

Virginia's abundant supply of offshore wind and wave energy can be tapped to generate electricity. Offshore winds specifically are stronger and steadier than winds over land. Also, there appear to be fewer environmental issues with offshore wind farms.

The VCERC wind group was asked to do relevant research and prepare a report detailing all the factors related to offshore wind farm development. Those factors include:

  • wind resource
  • foundation
  • stakeholder concerns (shipping lanes, military areas, etc)
  • sub-station locations
  • turbine construction sites
  • supply chain
  • job creation

The report essentially will show what a wind farm off the coast of Virginia might look like, what the wind resource is, where it could be, what the environmental effects to consider are, what are the economic effects and how would it be built.

Scientists, engineers and geographers at Virginia Tech - Advanced Research Institute, Old Dominion University, Science Applications International Corporation, Paliria Energy, Norfolk State University and James Madison University are doing this research.

The research was initially divided up into three areas:

  • Offshore wind power
  • Mapping offshore areas
  • Economic development impact

If you need more information about offshore wind farms feel free to contact one of the scientists or engineers below.

VCERC Expertise Guide- Wind


Larry Atkinson, ODU Climantology of Coastal Waters latkinso@odu.edu
David Basco, ODU Coastal Engineering dbasco@odu.edu
Shirshak Dhali, ODU Atmospheric Pressure sdhali@odu.edu
Jim Durand, UVA Wind Turbine Systems jhd6n@virginia.edu
Tal Ezer, ODU Numerical Ocean Models tezer@odu.edu
George Hagerman, VT-ARI hagerman@vt.edu
Carl Hobbs, VIMS hobbs@vims.edu
Sarah Karpanty ,VT karpanty@vt.edu
John Klinck, ODU Analytical/Numerical Models klinck@ccpo.odu.edu
Eric Loth, UVA Morphing Segmented Wind Turbine luerssrm@jmu.edu
Remy Luerssen,JMU Mapping luerssrm@jmu.edu
Guillaume Martinat, ODU Turbulent Flows martinat@ccpo.odu.edu
Jon Miles, JMU Wind Measurements milesjj@jmu.edu
Ken Newbold, JMU Research Development newbolkf@jmu.edu
Neil Rondorf ,SAIC Ocean Renewable Energy rondorfn@saic.com
Matt Unger, VT matthew.unger@vt.edu
Gary Whaley, NSU glwhaley@nsu.edu
Tim Wilkins, Paliria twilkins@paliria.com
James Wilson, JMU wilsonjw@jmu.edu

wind@vcerc.org

 

Research Focus Areas: Biodiesel ~ Economic ~ Mapping ~ Wind

About Us | Contact Us | Website Updated July 7, 2009 | ©2007 Virginia Coastal Energy Research Consortium